Curriculum Map

The Thorogate Curriculum Map

The Curriculum at Thorogate School is based around the following principles:

  • The 2014 National Curriculum.
    • The National Curriculum (NC) is a statutory document for LA maintained schools.
    • It breaks down what primary schools must teach to ensure a broad and balanced curriculum as well as providing sufficient rigour.
  • Read Write Inc Phonics.
    • RWI Phonics is the phonics scheme we use to teach phonics primarily in FS2 and KS1, but also into KS2.
    • It is a highly effective programme that ensures pupils rapidly learn phonics and have opportunity to read and write. More information can be found here.
  • Inspire Maths.
    • Inspire Maths is a maths scheme based on what is known as the Mastery Approach. More information can be found here.
  • Topic inspired work.
    • We use the main class topic as the driver for the learning across the curriculum. This retains a cohesion in the pupils learning.
  • The RMBC RE Syllabus
    • The agree RMBC RE Syllabus can be seen here.

A Curriculum Map for KS1 can be found here: Cycle A and Cycle B

A Curriculum Map for Lower KS2 can be found here.

A curriculum Map for Upper KS2 can be found here.